Tax Day

Although Americans mark this day as the deadline for rendering to Caesar, I imagine most days to be taxing for many who still watch the news or try to manage on their own through the muddle.

Things could be worse. I recently attended a presentation with the speaker admonishing the audience not to start sentences with “at least,” as in – at least you can still swallow, even if you lost all your teeth. Well meaning is not always a comfort.

Books can be a balm or a distraction and lately I’ve gotten less choosy about what I will read. The Prize books are not as appealing, while fantasy and romance have been sneaking into my repetoire – they seem less taxing.

One of my favorites is Matt Haig’s “The Midnight Library.” I reviewed it back in 2020 – when life was taxing but at least I had a partner.

https://ncbookbunch.wordpress.com/2020/10/09/the-midnight-library-by-matt-haig/

More recent on my list:

The Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years by Shubnum Khan

and the Sarah Maas books.

What are you reading?

Comment Here...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.